Japanese Cooking 101, Lesson 1 – Addendum: Miso Soup with Potatoes

Potato Miso Soup

What a delight! Potatoes and miso fit together really well, I never knew. Thanks for this recipe, Maki, it will be nice addition to our meal plan. It is a convenient meal for using up leftover potatoes and not having to buy a whole block of tofu if you only need a small amount for 1 or 2 bowls of miso soup.

I have to say I do no longer like the taste of the miso I bought. It seems to me the taste grew stronger all the time and now that only 2 spoons full are left in the container, the taste has gone too intense for miso soup in my opinion. I think it is a kind of awase miso and the texture is rather rough. I found out that there is a yellow kind of miso available at the health food store around the corner, next time I will try this one. The miso covers a lot of the delicate dashi flavour and I think a lighter tasting miso will result in a better blend of the ingredients.

Serves 2:
500ml dashi
1 small potato
2 tbsp dried wakame
2 tbsp miso

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar